Why vegan?

Hey out there, it’s me again.

Hope I didn’t scare away people by admitting just how crazy different I am. But then again, I guess it’s just strange to those people who don’t understand HSPs and for those this blog won’t be the most interesting one anyway, probably. Let’s see… 🙂

Today I had a discussion with a friend regarding global warming and he kept talking about having to abolish cars fueled by gas and going for only the electro ones. Sure, that sounds like a good idea but it is not the only thing to consider, right? I have heard not only once that animal agriculture is actually a bigger contributor to this phenomenon because the methane produced by animals has a larger warming effect than CO2. PLUS by rearing all this cattle we create such an enormous amount of suffering that is not necessary at all. Abolishing factory farming is not the only solution to global warming, obviously, but keeping animals in ridiculous numbers to give humans their oh-so-important meat ration and then have them die of heart attack doesn’t sound very clever to me. Honestly, it makes me mad how little people are willing to give a tiny bit of their comfort for a better world. Imagine, without this horrendous amount of factory farming, how nice the world could be… We would have plenty of space to grow enough food for all humans in the world, and as side effects fewer people would die of nutrition-related diseases because many of them have to do with too high meat consumption. It’s sad that most people try to not see these obvious facts and rather concentrate on the things that they are okay with, to come back to today’s conversation.

This just reminded me of my reasons for having gone vegan. As I told you before, I don’t want to be responsible for the death of another creature. What gives me (us) the right to keep animals in cramped places their whole short life long to then kill them because we would like to eat them?! I don’t get it. Do people believe that just because we can do it, because we have the brains to think of such cruelties, this gives us the right to actually put them into action?

We hurt animals, we hurt the planet, we hurt ourselves. Nonsense!

From vegetarian to vegan it’s only a short way considering that cows give milk only after having given birth to a calf and eggs also don’t come as a gift from heaven…

The strangest thing is that it was a very tough decision for me at first, because I thought I would have to give up many of my favorite foods – cheese, ice cream, yoghurt, curd… After a really short time I realized that my fears were needless! Okay, to date I didn’t find a good vegan cheese that I would want to buy a second time but you know what? It took me only a few weeks to stop missing cheese completely. I don’t crave it at all. Ice cream – the best ice cream ever the: frozen banana, blended with cacao powder, plant-based cream and agave syrup. A more detailed recipe will follow soon, though I guess many of you know variations of this already. It’s worth another try anyway; there can never be enough (vegan) ice cream in this world! 😉 It goes on like this, everything is either not necessary or can be easily replaced and the food makes me feel so good, much lighter somehow than after eating animal-derived products. And not only because of the better conscience.

So in this regard I am very thankful for being an HSP, because this increased awareness of the world around me has for sure made it easier to realize how cruel and wrong it is to exploit the helpless animals. And after initially going vegetarian to be able to look into the mirror every morning, veganism has now become a big part of my lifestyle and something I deeply love. There are few things I am as convinced of as being a vegan. It’s just right, you know? 🙂

By the way, I love baking a lot, and going vegan has opened a whole new world of recipes to me. Life can be so exciting!

What do you think about veganism? If there is anyone reading this, I would be thrilled to hear your opinion!

Bye for now!

Ayumi

7 thoughts on “Why vegan?

    1. Aww thank you Violet! I’m so glad that veganism is spreading – it’s about time! 🙂
      And I love that there are people like you contributing what they can to make the world a bit better!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Vegetarian for about a year and a half. Just now made the transition to vegan starting in January. But it wasn’t until last month that I eliminated all animal products.

    Nice post, by the way.

    God Bless!

    Like

    1. Thanks for your nice comment! So glad that more and more people start their journey towards a plant-based diet.
      I wish you all the best for your future – for me becoming vegan changed a lot for the better. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ayumi-have you tried adding nutritional yeast to your food? It adds an incredibly cheesy taste. It’s also great for vegans – has tons of B12 in it. I also haven’t found a good vegan cheese – ‘Vegan Gourmet’ isn’t too bad if you’re adding it to something. I bought the Monterey Jack: http://followyourheart.com/products/monterey-jack-3/

    And here are some homemade cheese recipes to try: http://www.onegreenplanet.org/vegan-recipe/10-vegan-cheeses-that-will-knock-your-socks-off/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your nice suggestions! Yes, I know nutritional yeast and I like it, too. Recently I haven’t used it so much because… Hm, maybe I didn’t need it so much anymore? Don’t really know. But the craving I had initially for cheese and that kind of stuff is nearly gone completely. The cheese you linked looks pretty good, though. But I live in Germany, so I guess it won’t be available for me. With cheese recipes I also had some good experiences actually. My favorite cheese is this:
      http://www.magicjelly.com.au/vegan-jamboree/2011/11/magic-vegan-cheese
      And the website has an awesome whipped cream recipe – it REALLY works for me, and I just love it:
      http://www.magicjelly.com.au/blog/2012/07/vegan-whipped-cream/
      I usually make a mix of both light and heavy cream, I can post it at one point, because I liked it better than the separate ones mentioned on this page.

      Like

Leave a Reply

