Let’s relax!

Hi out there!

It’s Friday, weekend coming, yay! Although I had a somewhat unpleasant day today (and will have to work a little tomorrow…), I’m still happy. Weekend means you don’t have to justify getting up late, staying in your PJs all day if you feel like it and just calming down from the events of the week. Some weeks that’s more necessary than others.

Do you know this feeling when you have something very important in mind all the time and you don’t know how it will turn out? For me this is the case right now, I have applied for an apprenticeship that only few people are accepted to, and it feels like a great thing to me that I would love to get. My head is spinning so often with worries and hopes and yesterday I got a confirmation that at least my application was received (I sent it months ago!) and had to fill out some questionnaires. God was I excited! Today I woke up with a funny feeling in my belly, for me a typical sign of nervousness. I usually have a hard time letting thoughts go. This whole morning while preparing breakfast I didn’t think of anything else.

Luckily the events of the day gradually brought me back to my normal self. After having listened to my current comfort music on the bus this morning, it was already much better. I love the way music can help you change your mood when needed. It can make you happy or sad, calm you down or stimulate you… At the moment (actually for the whole period of my Master’s thesis which was 6 months…) I am listening to (don’t laugh!) songs originated from my favorite anime series I loved to watch when I was younger. Now writing it down, it seems so very childish, but this music just gives me what I need at times like today, and that is a lot of assurance and the feeling that I am doing the right thing. Calmed down, I reached the institute and survived my day. 🙂

Now it already seems totally illogical that I was so hyper just because of something I had been looking forward to for so long and finally been able to do. I really need to start relaxing, but it’s always much easier to say it than to actually set it into action. Fellow HSPs, you sure know what I’m talking about. 😉

What usually helps me is to remember that this life is simply mine and not anybody else’s. Looking at the whole world, there are incredibly many ways of living a life, so why should I worry so much about one single aspect? Fine, it may be very important to me at the moment, but so are other things. If something doesn’t work out it’s not the end of the world, and if it does, well, even better. What counts in the end is the overall happiness, and this probably just suffers if one worries about everything so much more than necessary. I admire the people that just take everything the way it comes and never even bother to think about how it could have been even better. I do that all the time. It’s time to stop it right now. Overall, life is great for privileged people like us (I would consider anyone who can access the internet as privileged, because you most certainly also have a home, running water and a nice cozy bed) and we should remember that more often. We have so many possibilities, there is really no need to take them as an incentive to worry our heads off!

That said, I wish you all a wonderful (and relaxing) weekend!

Ayumi

That’s my cat Kyla… She obviously knows how to relax! 😉

Kyla

Leave a Reply

