Going out as an HSP

It’s always a struggle for me. Everyone is looking forward, planning a location, scheduling a time. And I am already getting uncomfortable at the thought of it. Going out is really not my thing.

Today my friends and I are gonna celebrate the completion of our Master’s theses, and of course I am also happy to see all of them once more before many of us will spread to different places and we won’t meet again so soon. It would be one issue if we met in a private place, like an apartment or something, but this bar thing I just hate. The problem is that most people enjoy ordering drinks and I think they probably also like this general atmosphere in bars. For me, it’s pure stress. All this noise, little space, tension because of the unfamiliar environment. I would really like to look forward, but I am actually more dreading it since I know that I will be totally worn out afterwards. Luckily I know now that this is only natural for most HSPs, and I don’t feel like such an alien anymore. πŸ™‚

For me it always helps to remind me that nobody forces me to do anything, so if I really don’t feel like going I don’t have to. In this case, I’ll go for sure (I mean, how many Master’s theses do you complete in your life? Right…), but normally I often say no. Most of the time, actually. And when there is this feeling of, ok, I want to go, I know it will be stress but it’ll be nice to see these people anyway, it’s somewhat fine. After all, it’s just one evening and then I can sleep and recover.

So I guess this is how it will be, tonight I’m gonna go through it, try to actually be able to have some proper conversations instead of this stupid superficial blah blah…

Tomorrow I’ll then have to say goodbye to one of my best friends here, as she’ll go home to India on Friday. I hope I will get the chance to bake something nice for her, then I might share the recipe with you. It’s always so strange when a chapter of life ends. I was looking forward to this for months, but now it feels just funny. Let’s see what the next weeks will bring.

Have a great (hopefully relaxing and joyful) day/evening depending on where you are! πŸ˜‰

Love, Ayumi

One thought on “Going out as an HSP

Leave a Reply

