It all has a reason

Spring, spring, SPRING! Nature. Green. Beautiful. Feeling whole…

DSCF2085[1]

Sometimes I just don’t know how I could ever choose the course of study I did choose – it’s just so unlike me. I’m a nature person and not a laboratory person, and the latter is what I am supposed to become once I’m completely done. I really doubt that I will ever set foot into this area again. It took me a long while (5 years!) to get to this point, but I know that I also needed a lot of time to realize who I am and who I am not. Sure, I still have countless miles to go, but I feel like I’m so much closer to me than when I was done with highschool. At that point, I just wanted to get a secure job and thought I would be fine with many things. Well, guess that was wrong. 😉

What’s funny – I told you guys about this important apprenticeship that I really, really wanted and for which I didn’t even get into the real selection process. Actually, at around that time I had also applied for a small online job and that I did get. And it’s so much fun! It’s a translation service called Gengo where basically anyone can apply as a translator for his or her language pair. Their philosophy is to offer a fast and comparably cheap translation in many language pairs, and for this they hire “normal” people who have to pass tests to be selected. I did get there and I realized that I love translating. I knew I loved the English language more than my mother tongue German, but not how much fun translating would be for me. You know, I strongly believe that nothing happens without a reason, so who knows? Maybe one day I’ll be a full-time translator and happy with it.

I guess the general importance of this is: don’t try to force yourself to do something. If you think you really want something, okay, try it. If you do it and like it that’s great. If you do it and don’t like it, see if you can find any better options and have the courage to switch. And well, if you are not able to do it although you would have loved to, don’t bury your head in the sand. Sometimes the solution comes instantly and in a way that’s so very different from what you expected. Just wait and see. My grandpa always used to say “Du kannst mehr absitzen als ablaufen”, meaning that you should just sit patiently and let time pass and see where it leads you instead of running after things that you might never get or that might turn out to be completely wrong for you. I love this attitude and I finally understand it.

Hope you guys are as content with your current ideas and choices as I am. ❤

Love,

Ayumi

Leave a Reply

